WWWEW!

 

Lorie from “Honey, I shrank Myself” (She really did shrink!) asked me to join them in todays meme Watchin’ What We Eat Wednesday.  We are to find a healthy recipe to share and post it on our blog.  Anything to do with cooking, count me in. I am going to post my favorite favorite, did I already say favorite, bread recipe from the cookbook, Don’t Panic Dinner is in the freezer.  I am a proud owner of this cookbook and I love it.  The downside is that it does not have any nutritional information for their recipes.  This bread is so wholesome.  I bet you could substitute some if not all the white flour with whole wheat flour.  From this recipe you get two huge loaves.

 Honey Whole Wheat Bread
3.5-4 cups flour
2.5 cups whole wheat flour
2 packages Red Star Dry Yeast
1T. salt
1 cup milk
1 cup water
.5 cup honey
3T. vegetable oil
1 egg

Recipe yields 2 large loaves or 3 small loaves

In large bowl, combine 1 cup white flour. whole wheat flour, yeast, and salt; mix well. In saucepan, heat milk, water, honey, and oil until warm; add to flour mixture. Add egg. Blend at low speed until moistened; beat 3 minutes at medium speed. By hand, gradually stir in remaining white flour to make firm dough. Knead of floured surface until smooth and elastic, about 5 minutes. Place in greased bowl, turning to grease top. Cover; let rise in warm place until light and doubled, about one hour.
Punch down dough. Divide into 2 parts. On lightly floured surface, roll or pat each half to a 14×17 rectangle. starting with the shorter side, roll up tightly, pressing dough into roll with each turn. Pinch edges and ends to seal. Place in greased 9×5 loaf pans. Cover and let rise in warm place until light and doubled (about 30 minutes) Preheat oven to 375 degrees and bake for 35-40 minutes until golden brown. Remove from pans and cool. Have a slice with natural peanut butter and hot tea…yummy!! Enjoy

Go over to Lorie’s and see what’s cooking

Posted in Fun

7 thoughts on “WWWEW!

  1. That bread looks wonderful. I love home made bread. Can you tell me where you found the neat calender that is on your sidebar? I love the way it highlights each day as they come. I would like a calender like that. Thank you.

    Like

  2. O my goodness that looks SO GOOD! I adore home made bread. But I never can seem to do it right, and it never turns out that yummy looking! :-p I am definitely going to try this one, though!

    Like

Comments are closed.