Fun Monday – Halloween

Funmondaylogo
Fun Monday today is hosted by Sayre Smiles

The assignment:
Tell us about your favorite Halloween as a kid (pictures, if you have them!), and show us your costume for this year. If you’re not dressing up, show us a picture of a pumpkin carving that really tickled your fancy or how you decorated your house.

UPDATE: It has been brought to my attention (duh) that not everyone celebrates Halloween. Sometimes I forget the international flavor of Fun Monday! So for those of you who do NOT celebrate Halloween, please show us or tell us about any holiday you celebrate that requires dressing up. It doesn’t have to be a costume per se, but wearing something that is out of the ordinary for you.

Growing up in Kenya, the word Halloween did not exist in our vocabulary, I had never heard of Halloween until I came to the US. And I remember soon after we had move to the US, one day someone was telling me when an event was going to happen, and she said that it was going to happen on Halloween night, and I asked her when is Halloween and she looked at me like “Duh!” and she really never told me. And I told her, hey, we do not have Halloween where we come from, and she did not believe me. So, now I did not know when this event was happening and also I had to find out what Halloween was. My hubby came to my rescue. Now I hear that Halloween is celebrated in Kenya. We have not really done anything for Halloween since we have been here, we always have candy though. We might do something with Rehema…At work, we were told we could dress up if we wanted to, any suggestions for me?

Henry (my baby) decorated for me a pumpkin.

Head over to Sayre Smiles and see some Halloween Treats.

10 thoughts on “Fun Monday – Halloween

  1. I like the pumpkin…as for suggestions, at this late date? Go to the nearest costume store, and find whatever fits! LOL!! Or just buy a cute hat, and work it!

    Like

  2. When my eldest was very small, we lived in a college community. Halloween arrived and I took her around the apartment complex.

    When the door came open at the family from Ethiopia they were perplexed and embarrassed.
    There were more children coming down the sidewalk, so I don’t know if anyone was able to explain to them what was happening. I don’t think I was able to. I think I was just as embarrassed as they were.

    Like

Comments are closed.