Support the troops!

Today I was listening to a Newsweek podcast (I think it was Newsweek) and they were asking some soldiers to tell them what they want people to do to show their support of them.  The answers were quiet interesting, they want more than yellow ribbons.  So, while I was driving home from work, I had a tasty thought.  Our unit admnistrator had sent us this an e-mail telling us that Golden Corral was having a Military Appreciation Day.  They have this every year in November (usually the Monday after Veteran’s Day) and anyone in Armed Forces can go there and get a free dinner.   This is to say ‘thank you’ to the troops.  I decided to bundle the kids and head over for our free dinner since Sila was going to be away.  Wow!  We have only one Golden Corral in Chattanooga so everyone and their favorite soldier was there.  The line was so so so long, there was basically no parking, but since I had promised Rehema a meal where she could eat what she wanted, i.e. macaroni and cheese and pizza,  I could not go back.  Well, the line went fast, and it’s because they were sitting people Kenyan style.  They were sitting strangers with strangers and you know, strangers are just friends you don’t know (don’t tell that to a kid).  The meal was really good and to Golden Corral, thank you for thinking of us.  We appreciate your support and (dinner).

3 thoughts on “Support the troops!

  1. I saw that another chain was giving free dinners to vets on veterans day. My hubby is a vet and I thought that would be fun … but I checked their web page and the local one wasn’t participating.

    Glad you got a well deserved thank you.
    (Thank you from me, too!)

    Like

Comments are closed.