Fun Monday

Fun Monday today is hosted by Aojthelurchers.
Her assignment reads:
OK, I know that pretty much all of you out there are bookworms.
So for Fun Monday on 2nd February, firstly tell me what book you are reading now.
I just picked up this book from church because it had an interesting title. It’s called Slavery & Christianity by John Robbins.

What’s it about?
It is based on Paul’s Letter to Philemon who was a slave owner. The slave was called Onesimus.
Are you enjoying it or not and why?
I have not read that far to make a decision whether I like it or not.

If not, why not?
It is a hard read for me, firstly because I did not intentionally go to look for it and secondly it is not the kind of book that you would find me reading. I love to read autobiographies. It is a tiny book though, 49 pages so I think I will give it a try.

And secondly, if you were to be stranded on a desert island, what one book would you take with you.
The Bible, its alive. And besides, I get many books in one book.
Head over to AojtheLurchers and read what everybody is reading.  Have a Fun Monday.

11 thoughts on “Fun Monday

  1. Your first one does sound like a difficult read.

    I didn’t think of the Bible. Mostly because I don’t think of it as a book to just read. Perhaps I should try that sometime.

    Like

  2. Your first choice sounds like an interesting read – I think I’ll see if I can track it down. Hope you’ll let us know what you think of it when you’re done.

    Like

  3. I’d love to hear what you think about the first one when you finish it. Hmm. Sounds interesting, and if it’s short I’m willing to give it a shot. 🙂

    Like

  4. I agree with your description of the Bible.

    Someone told me about that book by Robbins – When you are finished let us know if its one that the rest of us should read

    Like

  5. It’s funny how one’s taste in books changes over the years. I used to LOVE reading autiobiographies, but now…not so much. I like reading non-fiction, but it’s nice to escape into the make-believe world of fiction from time to time too.

    Like

  6. The book about slavery and christianity sounds interesting. The topic is one that Christians need to investigate because seemingly some Christians used the Bible to justify owning slaves. You are obviously faithful selecting tthe Bible as your desert island choice.

    Like

  7. You are so right about the Bible being many books in one. I hadn’t considered it for a desert Island book but I understand why several people have chosen it.

    Like

Comments are closed.