So many choices?

It is that time of the year when everybody is trying to get you to use their gym, buy their DVD or try their diet. It can be really confusing! About 1.5 years ago I joined a gym, and from my understanding I thought that I could break the contract with penalties, it turns out that I cannot break that contract for another 1.5 years. Bad mistake! Next time I will be sure to read the fine print properly. Luckily my employer pays for gym membership and I do go to that gym once in awhile. I was at one of the stores looking for a fitness DVD to buy. I already had the Jillian Michaels 30 Day shred and it does work if you do it everyday. I lost 5 pounds on it and I only did it for a total of 15 days in December. I wanted to get a different kind of DVD and was torn between Leslie (the walking one) and Billy’s Boot camp. I infact made my decision at the cashiers. Since I love to run, I decided to leave Leslie and go with Billy’s Boot camp. I put it on today, did his Abs workout and one of the boot camp workouts and I am feeling it. The downside is, I think it is more effective it you buy the bands but I was using 3 pound dumb bells and it was killing me. Will see how it goes. As for diet, I still cook Kenyan food a lot. We have decided that we are going to eat more veggies, lots of collard greens. After all, that is what we used to eat almost everyday while growing up. No wonder we were so slender! Have you made any fitness goals this year? My fitness goal is to lose 15 pounds, and I am willing to settle for losing it within the next 2 months.

2 thoughts on “So many choices?

  1. I have had the same experience with a gym, where you sign up and wind up paying the whole year even if you cancelled or decided against going. If I were to do a gym today, I’d go with a month to month plan. That way, if you get injured or just find that you don’t have the time, you’re not out much.

    Like

  2. I can’t believe that contract gyms still exist. That is so 1992… what city is that because they need to get it together.

    Like

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

