Thoughts & Thanks

One year ago today, my mom was laid to rest.  People talk  about closure, I am still not sure what that really means, I would say it was just hard to see her being put in the grave and knowing that I would not be able to see her again on this side of life.  But you know what?  
Romans 6:8-11 says:
Now if we died with Christ, we believe that we will also live with him. For we know that since Christ was raised from the dead, he cannot die again; death no longer has mastery over him. The death he died, he died to sin once for all; but the life he lives, he lives to God. In the same way, count yourselves dead to sin but alive to God in Christ Jesus. (NIV)

May the Lord reward all of you for your kindness, for all who made my journey to Kenya possible, for all your contributions monetary or otherwise, PTO days donations, for providing meals for my family when I was gone, for your prayers, visits and all the words of encouragement. I can never say thank you enough. When I think of this day, I especially remember each one of you and you are all special to me. Mungu Awabariki.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts & Thanks

  1. Wow! I guess we didn’t realize that a whole year has passed since then, Gracie. The empty spots in our hearts for our special loved ones never really get filled–and just make those cherished memories with them more precious–and also make us long with more depth for the time we we will join them in heaven. May the Lord comfort your heart and give you deep, deep peace in the missing of your Mom. Resurrection Sunday means so much when you have a Mom in heaven! Big, big hugs to you and the family.

    Like

  2. I’m not sure there ever is “closure” when one loses a beloved parent. As time passes though, there is acceptance and a newer ease of moving through your life. My grandmother has been gone for over 10 years and my mom still misses her everyday.

    Been thinking about you.

    Like

Comments are closed.