Fun Monday – Pesa!!


This week’s Fun Monday is hosted by the lovely Gattina. Here is her assignment:
I have the pleasure to be your host (again). I just came back from my round trip through Morocco where I had to pay in Dirhams which gave me an idea for this monday’s topic
I would like to see a picture of your wallet and your country’s currency. Of course there will be a lot of US $, but I suppose you all have a different wallet. I have never seen a bank note from the Philippines for example and I think it is interesting to see with what we pay, because we all have to pay with whatever note or coin !

I thought I had more money than this, turns out I am a poor Kenyan. The last time I went to Kenya, It was under difficult circumstances so I must have spent all my Kenyan monies. The exchange rate right now is $1 to 80 Kenya Shillings and one pound is equivalent to 118 Kenya Shillings. The note I have is the 20 shilling note. At one time, in my lifetime I think, the exchange rate was at one pound was equivalent to 20 Kenya Shillings. Can you imagine? It is at 118 now! Because of that, the 20 Shilling note got its name, pound. The back of the note is the picture of the Moi International Sports Centre which was constructed to host the All Africa games in 1987. The highest currency Kenya has is Ksh 1 000. At the end of every month, I used to be given a few of those by my employer. The next currency is Ksh 500 and then 200, then 100, 50, 20 and 10. We used to have 5 but they got rid of it and introduced the 5 shilling coin which is known as kobole. They also introduced a 10 shillings coin. This is because the 5 & 10 notes were being used so much it did not make sense to keep them as notes, they were getting old and tattered quick. By the way, it is illegal to tear Kenyan legal tender and it is also illegal to walk downtown without any cash on you! Oh yes, you can be stopped at any time by the cops.  Head over to Gattina’s and see all the monies we have out there.  Have a fun monday!

3 thoughts on “Fun Monday – Pesa!!

  1. Oh, I like that note. WHile notes are interesting, I find coins rather fascinating. I need to look around and see what I have. I know I have some English money at work, and a few Jamacian coins somewhere…

    Like

  2. I finally stopped trying to spend all my leftover cash on airport chocolate when I travelled to foreign countries. Now I have coins and currency from several countries. Sent some U.S. coins to a woman in Lithuania whose son collected. What is the problem with being on the streets with no cash?

    Like

Comments are closed.