Car Rides

I remember the fondly the days when we would ride to work together with my Dad.  (At other times I would take the bus and that is a story for another day) My Dad would drive, and for some reason I would sit on the back right of the car (the driver seat was on the right).  Everyday was an opportunity for my dad to teach me a life lesson, and it would range from Christianity, relationships, school, and career.  Those were interesting days.  So history is kinda repeating itself and I am driving my baby girl to school.  We pass the cemetery and the all important conversation starts.

R: What are those white things?

G: graves. 

R: what’s inside them?

G: dead people ( I guess I should have coated it a little)

R: do they live there?

G: Not really. 

R :Will they wake up?

G: When Christ comes back.

R :I don’t want to die, I don’t want to live there.  I don’t want you to die either.  Do you want to die mommy?

G: No (sigh)

2 thoughts on “Car Rides

  1. Those are tough conversations to have. When my son expresses concern about death, I reassure him that it is not something to be afraid of – that just like being born, everybody does it. The main thing is to live your life to the fullest while you’re here. No one knows what happens for sure after death, so it will be a surprise adventure when the time comes. The only thing that I know for sure is that my body, which may be diseased or in great pain will be left behind so that I can be free of that body’s limitations. My boy seems to have taken it all in stride now.

    Just wait until you get to explain sex. THOSE are fun conversations!

    Like

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

