Topic:What’s the longest you’ve been without sleep?

I have gone at least 24 hours without sleep a number of times.  We used to go for overnight prayers and we would stay up for 24 hours…the toughest hour of the night was 3am…that is when the spirits want you to fall asleep and not intercede.  I have done marathon movie nights and stayed up watching movies in college we would each chip in and watch as many as 5 DVDs overnight.  Those were fun times!  The toughest night was the night of the last foot march in basic training, we had to walk at night carrying our weapon and a heavy rucksack.  That was trying but it is at the end of the training so you are definately stronger.  I look forward to summer when I will be able to get at least 7 hours of sleep.

Half Marathon pics by Holly Abernathy…Love you Holly!

3 thoughts on “Topic:What’s the longest you’ve been without sleep?

  1. Good stuff! I, too, have done overnight church things. I’m Catholic so we sometimes have overnight adoration of the Blessed Sacrament. There is just something about that 3AM hour, though…

    Like

  2. I’ve done 24 hours before, possibly more. I had a boyfriend once who was a night owl. It was not unusual for him to stay up all night – but he didn’t have a regular job to go to (strictly freelance), so he could go to bed after I went to work. He’d get upset if I wanted to sleep. This was towards the end of our relationship when his alcoholism was spiraling out of control. The best part of the breakup was that I got to sleep!!!!

    Like

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

