Races!


R is for races! I love races! If you want to take your running to the next level, sign up for a race. When you sign up for a race, it forces you to train (which is no problem since you just love running anyway) I used to go running, but when I signed up for a race, things changed. I had to get a training plan and try to follow it, which meant I had to at least get out there 3 times a week and run!
My first official race was the Riverbend 5K. I was so so nervous, I had never ran a race before and there were like a million people. At least I knew for sure that I would not be last, but because of the many people, we were tripping over everybody especially when we were running over the bridges. The following year, I decided to run the 10K! It was a killer. Sadly, this became my least favorite race, just because of the crowds. (no chance of winning an age group award, LOL)

Shortest race goes to the Market Street Miracle Mile. This is fast and furious and it was one of the two races that I placed 1st place in my age group. Disclaimer: less than 100 people show up for this race. This race is actually taking place tomorrow and it raises money for the Children’s hospital. It is also the kick off for the Junior Miracle Marathon that Rehema participated in last year.

Longest race title is taken by the 2011 Scenic City Half Marathon, I was just running and running forever! wow! The fun part of this race was the training!

The most challenging race that I have ever done was the Wauhatchie Trail Run, it was a killer, but it is the only other race that I have ever placed 1st in my age group, all because few people showed up for it. It is held in December and so it is freezing, even after you finish the race, you are still freezing!

I used to participate in a night time race, 4 miles and it is Karen Lawrence 4.2 mile race. nice, always an awesome way to usher in New years (my birthday). So sad that I will not be able to do it this year and Dick Clark wont be rocking the new year 😦

My favorite race of all time is the Chattanooga Chase! You run up hill for the first 3 miles and then downhill the remaining 2 miles. It is 50 minutes of pure excitement 🙂

and finally, mud run! group race!!

2012 has been a very very slow year for me as far as races are concerned. We have 2 soccer games every Saturday and so I have not been able to participate in any. I am looking forward to running one soon! Do you have any races coming up soon?

4 thoughts on “Races!

  1. I used to ran a race every month when I was in Chattanooga, that comes to 12 races a year, hence the Runner of the Year award from accumulating points from races

    Like

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

