Vaccine

I remember it like it was yesterday, but I was only in first grade! It had to be first grade because small pox was declared ‘eradicated’ by WHO in 1977 (don’t quote me on that)
It was a normal school day. We then went to morning assembly. The teachers then came and one by one, we were asked to show our left hand and the teacher would examine it. We did not know what they were looking for. We were then separated depending on what they saw on our arm. Kinda like sheep and goats. We then stood in a line and waited. Then these people came, and headed for our line. One by one, took our left arm, pricked the upper arm several times with the needle. yes, and that is how I got my small pox vaccine!

4 thoughts on “Vaccine

  1. Receiving vaccines is one of my strongest memories about elementary school. I guess my parents never had me vaccinated properly because I seem to remember getting shots at school all the time. I still hate needles.

    Like

Comments are closed.