Freedom 4 Miler

ss 025Two months ago, I thought it would be such a great idea to register for a 4 mile race!  After all, it is St. Louis’ Most Patriotic race!  But here was the challenge that I did not plan for.  A few days later, we headed to Kenya for a month.  I thought I would go to Kenya, eat lots of vegetables and fruits and after all again, it is the land of 4 minute miles!  All the above did not happen.  Here I was, 10 pounds heavier, having gone out to run only once (2 miles) and getting to run a 4 mile race.

The weather was perfect and there were not too many people.  Unfortunately, I did not really know where the race was without my GPS.  There was parking very near the start line for a hefty fee, but there was also free parking downtown since the race was at 7.00 am.  They start charging at 8.00 am.  I opted for the free parking but I had to walk like half a mile, and people were getting ready for the parade (hence the parade picture) and everyone I asked, did not know where the start line was.  I saw some runners running and I started running after them 🙂 and good thing they were going to the same race.

The race was great.  My goal was to get to my car before the meter person and so I did ran at a slow pace.  I even walked some.  Proceeds from the race support the USO and this years was celebrating our freedom with the 1st Battalion 138th Infantry.

Have a great 4 of July!

 

 

