FLOAT

A few years ago, when I was in 5th grade…okay, more than 3 decades ago,  I transferred to a new school in 5th grade. This was a boarding school (I became a boarder in 6th grade) and it had a swimming pool.  I did not know how to swim or Float.  We had swimming once  a week I think! (it’s decades ago remember)  Swimming day came and Mrs Scott (Headmaster’s wife) was our swimming teacher.  It was one of those situations where you pay for one and you get two, she was working there for no pay.  She came and started pushing us (non-swimmers) into the pool, and just like that, I found my self floating.  I basically taught myself how to stay afloat.  There were some students crying in the pool and she had them evacuated from the pool. I don’t think that is the best way to teach kids to swim, I in fact had to pay for my kids to learn how to swim, but it worked for me.  It’s all about keeping your head above the water, right? Have a great weekend! 682.5 miles to go!

